Awards to top off

Players awarded for great season

Screen Shot 2022-04-21 at 3.18.32 pm.png

PORT Lincoln Cricket Association awarded its best players for 2021/22 at its presentation on Wednesday night with Tasman's Andrew Frick receiving A grade's top honour among other awards. The presentation was held at the Port Lincoln Hotel, including special guest, former Australian cricketer Rodney Hogg.

In the A grade awards it was a big night for Frick, winning his third Most Valuable Player award on 801 points, 239 ahead of runner up Ben Smith of Southern Eyre South. On top of this Frick also won awards for best bowling aggregate (21 wickets), best batting average (456 runs at 38) and best batting aggregate (456 runs).

For Frick this season has been dedicated to a friend from the United Kingdom, who died suddenly last year from meningitis. "I spent time in theUK and we played together and he also came out to Australia," he said. "I loved playing cricket with him and every game (this season) I mention his name every time before I went out to play."

Frick said while the season had not been his greatest in terms of total runs and wickets, he had a consistent year and was happy with how it all went. While he finished runner up, it was also a big night for Smith as he was named as one of the two newest life members, alongside Lincoln South's Craig Reidy.

Smith's career has included more than 300 games, 17 times Henderson Shield representative and captain for four years, Australian Country Nationals player for eight years and two time All Australian Country captain. "I had no idea it was coming, it's a big honour to be a life member," Smith said.

Reidy first played in Port Lincoln in 1989/90 and during his career had racked up more than 1200 runs and taken more than 250 wickets. He said it was "very rewarding" to receive this acknowledgement after many years of playing cricket.

In the B grade count Tod River's Daljeet Batth took top honours with 723 points, finishing just two ahead of Southern Eyre South's Troy Dunn to win the MVP. Batth also won best bowling aggregate for his 24 wickets. In Colts Tasman's Marlie Fauser had best batting aggregate with 272 runs and won the MVP on 492 points, five ahead of runner up Tyrese Sincock of Charlton.

Written by Jarrad Delaney in Port Lincoln Times


Jarrad Delaney